Delving Into Communication Fluency

It is officially my first week in graduate school. I have to say, it is a little overwhelming and exciting, all at the same time. For those at home who are keeping score, I recently got engaged and decided it was time to go back to school to get my Masters and secure myself a better job in a career field that I enjoy. While originally going for a Bachelor’s in music and theatre was an amazing experience, my interests have diversified and I find myself entranced with this world of communication- most specifically, social media.

So, here I am. Starting classes at Queens University of Charlotte, through their online Master’s program. As I said before, it’s a bit overwhelming (especially when working a more than full-time job), but I’m excited to get the ball rolling on my new adventures. I downloaded new software on my computer, updated my Office 365, got a webcam and headset- I’m ready to rock and roll!

Image

(I also should mention that I love adding photos into my blogs. Thank goodness for clipart!)

This week is the first week in my Communication Fluency class. It is a class that will teach me, not only how to communicate better, but how to evaluate different forms of communication, as well as, how to utilize different medias of communication. In fact, that was our first assignment of the week- to learn how to open up accounts on Twitter, Youtube, Skype, and WordPress.

Luckily, I’ve had experience in opening accounts on all of those platforms before. I have another blog that I started a few years back on the blogger website (it is called Bigger Girls Can Run Too) that details my journey from couch potato to endurance runner. I also have a Twitter that links to that blog which I set up around the same time.

For this class, I decided to start with a clean slate and open a brand new accounts. It was as streamlined of a process as I remember, with a minor exception. Starting Twitter was relatively easy- the only thing I didn’t like about it was that in order to get started you had to follow celebrities or companies or other things right away. I know a lot of people enjoy reading celebrity tweets and that is one of the main reasons people use Twitter, because it brings you onto a somewhat personal level with someone who is otherwise unreachable, but I’m just not that big on reading celebrity tweets. I ended up selecting a few because I had to, but I may go back and unfollow them. Other than that one thing, the processes for connecting to those multiple digital platforms were as easy as I remember. Possibly even more so.

If you feel the need, please feel free to follow me on Twitter (@KristersC) even though I did link my Twitter feed into the widget on my blog page here as well.

Feel free to bookmark and/or follow this blog as well. Some pretty in-depth and intriguing blog discussions are on the horizon! Make sure to come back and check them out!

Leave a Reply

